Internet connection

Anything related to living aboard your boat

Internet connection

Postby K Dowling » Mon Jun 04, 2012 12:27 pm

I have been using a Verizon 4G-LTE USB modem for about 6 months. It is connected to a Cradlepoint wi-fi base station. The cost for 8GB of data is about $80/month. Lower cost plans are available. So far...

Placement of the USB modem is critical as we live on the edge of 4G coverage. I have a high quality USB extension cord and keep the base station on the covered flybridge with the modem vertical on the tower side of the boat. I move the modem around when I am away from home.

The wi-fi on the boat is excellent and the speed when using two computers for e-mail and surfing is very good, not as good as cable, but very good. We don't stream much video or music and I suspect we would have to just use one computer at a time if we did so.

Reliability of signal...I set the Cradlepoint on a timer to be off from midnight to 6 AM. The whole setup has been more reliable with the down time. I'm told there is a higher end router that will achieve the same goal. It goes through a complete reset after a signal loss instead of just a re-connect. The short cut re-connect gets hung up. It's easy but annoying to do a reset from your laptop. The system will run for days and weeks without a problem but can be tripped up by very heavy rain.

None of this stuff is marinized and I am concerned about long term survival in the enclosure. The little inverter puts out some useful heat to keep things drier when it's all tucked into the unused laptop sun shield.

The LTE modem will also look for wi-fi. I've not used this feature with this modem. I know from experience that having the modem on the bridge greatly improves wi-fi reception compared to a laptop in the cabin. Using the Cradlepoint to distribute the share-able signal to the boat makes it all convenient.